The Arab Open University (AOU) is an extraordinary experiment in education involving the creation of an open system of e-learning. The objective is to provide higher education opportunities to local and regional communities, as well as to the wider Arab world, by using modern, technically advanced methods of teaching. From its headquarters in Kuwait, the AOU has developed seven national branches which have been operating from temporary facilities. These are in Kuwait itself, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Egypt, Lebanon and Oman. Further expansion is planned for more than twenty countries in the Gulf, the Middle East and Africa.

KEO was responsible for the project and construction management of the Egyptian branch of the AOU located in the Shorouq area of Cairo. The campus, with a built up area of 12,000 square meters, is situated on a site of 23,000 square meters and was completed in April 2012. The building itself can accommodate an enrolment of 3,850 students, as well as 180 members of staff.